Intarsia in the Round

This is a technique I wanted to try for quite a while. As I still am in destashing mode, I chose two balls of sock yarn leftovers to knit a pair of split socks. One half in green stripes, the other one in a pinkish variegated colourway. My version is knit toe-up using Judy’s Magic Cast On, has a short-row heel and is bound off in JSSBO.

There are several techniques to knit intarsia in the round. I have followed pumora’s tutorial, which joins the two colour sections by twisting the yarn strands at one transition and by a wrap and turn at the other one. This technique suits my knitting preferences well, so I will probably stick to it. Once you’ve got the hang of it, it is really not difficult.

My ankle socks have used 26g of fingering weight yarn per colour.

Leave a Reply

