The Soap Bubble

I needed a new soap dish for my bathroom and wanted something more sustainable than a cheap plastic item. The most obvious solution might have been to buy a wooden or luffa soap dish, but that would have been too easy. Why not knit one?

My first idea was to knit a sphere from stainless steel wire, which turned out to be a bad idea due to a complete lack of elasticity. Furthermore, the wire I had chosen proved to be too thick. My next attempt was to exchange the wire by grey ITO Tetsu, a silk and stainless steel laceweight yarn. It was knittable, but still not elastic. Sadly, it did not want to keep its spherical shape, so I reinforced it with the stainless steel wire from my first try. Well, here it is, a knitted soap dish:

dsc_1458.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “The Soap Bubble

  1. That’s a great idea for knitting with wire! A few years ago, I stripped the copper out of old power plugs & adapters we had around and knit it together with crochet cotton. I made a sphere/hanging ornament and a doily, just to try it out. Both have sat outside on my deck, in the elements since then & the copper has held up fine. I wonder if it would react more with soap tho. Hmmm – only 1 way to find out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

