Katinka Mitts (my first complex pattern)

These mitts have quite a long story and started with a request from my aunt. She had asked me to knit her a pair of super tight, super short mitts with a large cable on the back of the hand.

I accepted the challenge and added some extra spice, namely a cabled, sideways knit cuff, morphing into a cabled cable on the back of the hand and ending as a cable around the middle finger. It took me several prototypes to develop a pattern, but I finally have succeeded.

dsc_1448.jpg

The latest version is knit from 24g of Maschenkunst Belana, a beautiful light fingering weight shetland yarn, in Asparagus. It gives detailed stitch definition which is important for the cable structure. Apart from that, my weakness for shetland yarns should not be a secret anymore.

My previous prototypes were knit using Tausendschön Merino Extrafein in Bougainville (stunning colour on a wonderfully soft yarn base) and using DyeForWool Merino Silk in Dove Being No More (check out their Etsy shop!) which both give good stitch definition as well and add more softness.

You can buy the pattern on Ravelry. I would love to see your projects!

One thought on “Katinka Mitts (my first complex pattern)

  1. Pingback: Good-Bye, 2016 – Welcome, 2017 | pinkzombiecrafts

Leave a Reply

