Amsterdam and a finished pair of socks

When a close friend of mine asked me to accompany her on a daytrip to Amsterdam including the chance to visit Stephen and Penelope, I did not hesitate a second.

The shop is just gorgeous. You fall into a universe of colours right after the doorstep. To enhance this effect, most yarns are displayed hanging in hanks at the walls.

DSC_0889

Apart from the exquisite selection of yarns, including brands like Malabrigo, Baa Ram Ewe, Jamieson & Smith, Hedgehog Fibres, Madelinetosh and Quince & Co., you will find a lot of pattern and yarn related books in every little corner. Most of them are showcased with a touchable example of their content.

DSC_0895

On your way to the first floor you pass a white wall full of colourful Stephen West shawls:

DSC_0891

Now to the fun part, my shopping there. You might have discovered yet, I like black. Black, greys, black, dark reddish purples, black and sometimes very dark reds. So what actually would I buy there? Beautiful Malabrigo? Jamieson & Smith for their sheepiness? Hedgehog Fibres to celebrate my yarn snobism? No,I bought two hanks of Baa Ram Ewe Titus in Coal. This fingering weight yarn has a light halo which I instantly fell in love with:

baa ram ewe titus

I’m pretty sure I will use it for winter accessories, so it will get a nice little space in my wool closet for the moment.

During the drive to Amsterdam, I finished the charity socks! They’re made of some cheap Aldi sock yarn but turned out quite nice. They’re size EU 43 and weigh 75 g.

charity socks

Today I might block my Waiting for Rain shawl.

2 thoughts on “Amsterdam and a finished pair of socks

Leave a Reply

