Yarn Shopping in Edinburgh

I recently spent a few days in Edinburgh, where I, apart from other things,  went a little shopping for yarn. First, I went to Kathy’s Knits, a lovely little yarn shop that carries mostly scottish yarns. They sell brands like Blacker YarnsJamieson & SmithNew LanarkEden Cottage and Wensleydale Longwool, to name only a few. New Lanark’s Chunky as well as Blacker’s Hebridean / Mohair instantly caught my eye, but as I did not have a specific project for them in my mind and as my stash is rather growing than shrinking, I only bought some balls of Jamieson & Smith’s 2 Ply Jumper Weight. I’m planning to knit my first fair isle project with them, a Scare Isle Tam.

J&S 2 Ply Jumperweight

My second stop was at Be Inspired Fibres and I’m still glad I went there only half an hour before their closing time. I was overwhelmed by all those yarn specialties they carry. For the first time, I could see and touch Madelinetosh, FyberspatesShilasdair and Holst Garn in a lot of different qualities and many of their vivid colours. I will definitely try out Fyberspates and Shilasdair in the near future, but due to financial and time restrictions, I only bought two balls of Holst’s Titicaca in black, which I want to turn into a Blackjack shawl, as well as a hank of Tosh Merino Light in Tart, only for its awesomeness:

Holst Titicaca Tosh Merino Light

As I recently discovered, that Knitpro’s Symfonie needles are not sharp enough for me, apart from the fact that wooden needles are a bad idea for tight knitting in general, I also bought a pair of HiyaHiya sharp and a pair of Chiaogoo Red Lace circular needles for testing. I have not tested the HiyaHiya’s yet, but Chiaogoo seems to fit my knitting style quite well.

Sadly, I did not have the time to stop by at Ginger Twist Studio, but I’ll catch up on that the next time.

Leave a Reply

