Handmade cosmetics

I am a huge fan of handmade, cruelty-free cosmetics. Up to now, I bought most of it at Lush cosmetics, but they still do not have a facial cream that suits my skin. Watery from yarnicorns recently told me about the book “The Glow” by Anita Bechloch, which holds an assortment of recipes for your own handmade natural cosmetics:

The Glow book

The author starts with some interesting facts about conventional cosmetics and the possible impact of their artificial ingredients on human health, followed by a short summary of skin structure and skin types. She then gives advice on “how to bring the glow back” by enunciating ten short rules (which is sort of creepy in my eyes, as I do not like reality cut down to a short, general point of view). Bechloch then describes the ingredients she uses in her recipes in detail and gives some suggestions for tools you should have at hand as well as advice on what to consider before starting and how to handle the finished cosmetics.

There are a lot of recipes I want to try out, but I decided to start with “Herbal Toner”, based on orange flower water, as a possible alternative to Lush’s Eau Roma and the “Rich Moisturizer”. This is what I bought:

The Glow ingredients

The most tricky part was to measure the ingredients, which I partly did by a rule of thumb estimate. I definetely should buy a 5ml measure. The toner looks like clear water and therefore is not pictured, but I am quite happy with the result of the moisturizer, which is flavoured with mandarin oil:

Rich moisturizer

Of course, I did not buy any containers in advance, so I put the cream into an empty glass jar I had at hand. I will test both for a week or two and am very curious about their impact on my sensitive skin.

Leave a Reply

